U.S.-Russia Presidential Commission Science Panel Meets in Moscow

Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy John P. Holdren and Russian Minister of Education and Science Dimitry Livanov are co-chairing the fourth meeting of the U.S.-Russia Bilateral Presidential Commission (BPC) Working Group on Science and Technology Cooperation April 4 in Moscow.

Established in 2009 to strengthen bilateral research cooperation, the Science and Technology Working Group plans to identify opportunities to conduct cooperative research on natural hazards, climate science, and nanotechnology, according to a State Department notice. The delegates also will explore ways to promote cooperation across a wider range of disciplines and discuss opportunities to facilitate cooperation at the university level, the State Department said.

Acting Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Science, Technology and Health Jonathan Margolis will lead a new subgroup on enhancing research cooperation. The subgroup will work to remove obstacles to cooperation such as customs duties and taxes, identify mechanisms to facilitate coordinated research, and discuss ways the United States and Russia can work together to promote research integrity, the State Department said.

The U.S.-Russia Bilateral Presidential Commission is the premier forum for broadening and strengthening cooperation between the two governments and peoples. President Obama and President Medvedev established the BPC in July 2009 to improve coordination between the two countries and to explore new opportunities for partnership. The BPC framework includes 20 working groups, including the Working Group on Science and Technology Cooperation.

The image above shows Holdren on a visit to Moscow’s Bauman University in March 2011.

More information on the bilateral commissions is available on the State Department website

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Comment


Essential SSL